Higher Ed Leaders Join Nutromics Biosensor Advisory Board

Nutromics said that its lab-on-a-patch technology has attracted the support of multiple world-class experts from leading U.S. and Australian institutions, who now comprise its Biosensor Advisory Board. The board consists of researchers from Columbia University, University of California, Johns Hopkins, North Carolina State University, and the University of New South Wales. 

“We’ve attracted the most acclaimed researchers in the field because we’re world leaders in the space of continuous DNA-based sensing,” said Nutromics CEO and co-founder Peter Vranes. “Our mission is to revolutionize diagnostics with our novel technology. To achieve this, we need to collaborate with the most experienced experts, and this advisory board represents a major step in that direction.”  

The advisory board is being led by Professor Kevin Plaxco, the inventor of Nutromics’ DNA-based sensor technology and distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biological Engineering at the University of California, Santa Barbara. 

Plaxco, who is recognized by Thomson Reuters as one of the most highly cited chemists in the world, has co-authored more than 250 papers and a dozen patents on protein folding, protein dynamics, and folding-based sensors. He met Nutromics co-founders Peter Vranes and Hitesh Mehta in 2017 and has been an early believer in the company’s vision to transform diagnostics. 

“The scientists on this panel are masters in their field of study. They offer enormous intellectual input, keep us abreast of the latest developments, and their involvement shows that Nutromics is a credible leader in this idea of in-vivo diagnostic monitoring," said Plaxco. “Their intellect and guidance will be invaluable in helping us master new receptors, adapt them into sensors, and put them in-vivo.” 

Members of the Biosensor Advisory Board include:  

Dr. Milan Stojanovic, a Professor at Columbia University and organic chemist who made important contributions to the generation of functorial oligonucleotides.  

Dr. Netzahualcoyotl Arroyo-Curras, an Assistant Professor in Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine who leads a multidisciplinary research group focused on the development of biosensing technologies for real-time molecular monitoring in biological systems. 

Dr. Yi Xiao, a tenured Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry at North Carolina University focused on the development of new methods to accelerate the isolation and characterization of high-quality aptamers. 

Professor Justin Gooding, a Scientia Professor at the University of New South Wales known internationally for his work on surface modification, biosensors, developing functional nanomaterials, cell-based diagnostic devices and electroanalysis.